Lokwang the nomad…

Oh papa,I have fallen in love with a nomad,one who wears ngamouk in his feet,and walks the plains with his herding stick upon his shoulders.

He took me to the manyatta where the youth perform the edong dance,oh how lovely the music they made was.

They jumped high in the air following the rythm of their handclaps as they sang along.

Papa,you should have seen him kiss the clouds, Lokwang jumped higher than anyone else,with his white ostrich feather resting upon his hat,I guess he was happy to see me.

Oh how I love Lokwang the warrior,one who wears a red ostrich feather upon his hat.He has rustled cattle from the turkana and itesots, Lokwang my love,one who has chased and captured ostriches!

I won’t be a donkey in his home papa,he will use his oxen to till the filds later he will plant millet and sorghum, mine will be to weed the farm.

When I collect our harvest papa,we will cook a meal and share it with the rest of the village,lest I bring badluck for our household for not sharing with my people.

I will collect the rest of the harvest and keep it in a granary outside our manyatta.

I will build a strong manyatta,in his Nyalaar down in Nakapelimoru village,I will cook for him and raise our children well,just the way you have raised me.

He will give me,ngatok blood and milk,just so I can become as strong as the rest of the ladies in the jie community.

He will have the elder ladies put ngageran in my face,just so that my beauty is enhanced.

Lokwang,warms my soul,he makes me watch the stars and sometimes watch the moon.

He tells me sweet stories,like how his grandfather passed on the ivory bracelet he wears on his arm,he is tasked to take care of his family’s ngatok ever since then!

Lokwang is a nile hermite, one who travels from time to time searching for greener pastures.

Papa see,he came armed to the teeth,his right hand holding his ngatok tail as a shield,but he might as well use it to celebrate once you give him my hand,his left hand is holding his one legged stool,he calls it ekicolong.

Papa,Lokwang won’t leave without me,he will sit patiently on his ekicolong until you say yes,when the sun sets before I could be his,he will rest his head upon his one legged stool till dawn.

Author: Namale Agnes

Am a simple person, author, adventurous, environmental conservationist, Travel Journalist and Humanitarian

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started